Candidates seeking election to nonpartisan municipal offices may file a Notice of Candidacy at the office of the Dare County Board of Elections beginning July 5.

            To be accepted, all Notices of Candidacy, together with the proper filing fee, must be in the possession of the Dare County Board of Elections by noon on Friday, July 19.

            General Candidacy Requirements: Must be a registered voter qualified to vote in an election for the office sought; be at least 21 years of age as of the date of the general election; and not serving an active felony sentence, including any period of probation or parole.

            Municipal candidates will be elected as follows:

Duck: five council members (two-year term) Mayor elected by Town Council at first meeting after Nov. 5;

Kill Devil Hills: one mayor (two-year term) and two commissioners (four-year term);

Kitty Hawk: two council members (four-year-term);

Manteo: one mayor (two-year term) and three commissioners (four-year term);

Nags Head: two commissioners (four-year term);

Southern Shores: three council members (four-year term).

            Voter registration closes at 5 p.m. on Friday, October 11 for the 2019 nonpartisan municipal elections. The Elections Office is open Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to noon and 1 to 5 p.m. Questions concerning filing or voter registration can be directed to the Elections Office at 252-475-5630.


More from this section

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.