They didn’t play here this season, but they still carry our name. So congratulations to the Outer Banks Daredevils, who just captured the 2018 Postove Cup by winning the Tidewater Collegiate Summer League championship by a 12-8 score over the Virginia Beach Waves on July 10 at Virginia Wesleyan University.

In that contest, the Daredevils overcame a 4-1 deficit with a 6-1 outburst in the top of the fifth inning and then never looked back. The champs racked up 17 hits, paced by three apiece from Ryan Creps and Russell Mistretta. The winning pitcher was Daniel Petr, who got five outs coming out of the bullpen.

In the regular season, the Daredevils finished in first place with a 16-6 mark, edging out the second-place Portsmouth Sea Monsters by a few percentage points. On their way to the championship, the Daredevils defeated the Lakewood Legends (2-0), the Sea Monsters (7-2), and the Virginia Beach Shredders (5-4) before outscoring the Waves in the title game.

Offensively, the Daredevils were led this season by Andrew Kasiski, honored as the team’s top hitter, who hit .562 followed by Michael Gabriele, who batted .412. The team’s “Ace” Award for its top pitcher went to Thomas Packert, who compiled a 3-0 record while yielding only 1 earned run in 22.2 innings.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.